Tipperary Raceway Welcome to Tipperary Raceway In association With S.O.R.A
Bringing you the best Hot Rod, Stockcar and Banger Racing in Ireland
Next Meeting

- Sunday -24/ 3

Click Here for More Fixtures
Latest Gallery

Our First Gallery

Latest News From the Raceway
Fantastic news from the raceway last night. 2016 WORLD STOCK ROD CHAMPIONSHIP to be held at the raceway next year.
Andy Sturt new European Stock Rod champion. Report to follow.

Added: 25th October

Red cross support
The Red Cross branch from Cashel attend every meeting at Tipperary Raceway and provide medical assistance where and when required. They are all volunteers and as such must raise funds for equipment and training. This weekend the 24th there will be a 2 euro charge for the official programme so please give generously. 700.28 raised on Saturday. Thank you to everyone who donated.

Added: 17/10/15

Night of European Championship Races
Tipperary will be the place to be next Saturday 24th October for a night of Championship racing. Denis Kinane Honda is the meeting sponsor and our thanks to him for that.
National Hotrods will vie for the European Challenge Cup, sponsored by Brady Builders Kildare, followed by the annual Davy Evans Memorial Cup race.
Lightning Rods are competing for the European Challenge Cup sponsored by Butlers Sports Bar Fethard.
2Ltrs will contest the Southern Irish Open sponsored by Industrial ands Agri Supplies Dungarvan.
The main event of the evening is the Stock Rods European Championship. D.W. Refining, Derek Whelan,is the sponsor.
So you can see we have a fantastic line up of races for you.
SORA would like to thank all our sponsors and ask you when possible to support them.

Practice times:
Stock Rods: 4.00, 4.10
National Hotrods: 4.20.
Lightning Rods: 4.30.
2Ltrs: 4.40.
Stock Rods: 4.50, 5.00

1st race 5.15pm.

These times are open to alteration on the day.
A large crowd is expected so come early, check out the cars in the pits and top up on energy at the Raceside Shop and Richies Hot food van.

Added: 17/10/15

Non points racing
There will be a non points day on Sunday 18th October with the first race at 1pm. entry fee euro20, spectators free.

Added: 12/04/15

Champions night
Great night of Championship races.
It was a dry, but sometimes chilly, evening at Tipperary on Saturday. That was only for the spectators as the racing was fast, competitive and sometimes heated.
Tipperary really was, the place where champions race, as there were a number of current and past champions racing.
970 Shane Murphy 2015 World Champion.
54 Adam Hylands 2015 European Champion.
962 John Christie Former World Champion.
9 Glenn Bell Former World Champion.
261 David Casey 2015 British Open Champion.
83 Alan McCormack Former European Champion.
50 Ben Murray Former European Champion.
I apologise if I missed anyone else.
The Nationals started of the racing competing for the Irish Open. 14 cars lined up in heat 1, with (9) Glenn Bell arriving from a holiday as the cars were going to the grid. We were glad Glenn made it as he was last years winner. It was a fast race with John Christie and Derek Martin split by Shane Murphy at the finish. Unfortunately 937 Ben McKee crashed into the wall at turn 3 and could not compete for the rest of the meeting. Hopefully the damage although looking bad was not too severe according to the driver. Heat 2 was a fantastic race where the visiting fans were treated to what the locals see and savour each week 261 David Casey and 970 Shane Murphy duelling it out for 1st and 2nd positions. This time David Casey took the honours with Shane in second. 50 meters behind the southern duel there was a northern duel with 76 Adam Maxwell getting the better of 54 Adam Hylands. Adam Hylands did not seem to be on song for the evening as he normally goes well at Tipperary a track he loves to race on.
Under the lights, as nightfall had started to set in the final started with Shane Murphy going straight into the lead from pole position. Again it was David Casey who lead the chasing pack fighting of a great charge from 20 Derek Martin. That is the order in which they finished with 5 non finishers.
The last race of the night was the Pat Canavan Memorial Cup. This is a memorial to Pat Canavan who raced for many years at Tipperary and was well known to a lot of our visitors. David ORegan replaced Derek Whelan in the 888 car and was the only local driver to finish the race. Murphy and Casey the local favourites both retired with mechanical problems. The track was now clear for our visitors to slog it out, and they did. Derek Martin (20) took the win followed by Adam Hylands and Glenn Bell.
Lightning Rods competed for the Southern Irish Open and the entry was supplemented by 7 Northern and 3 English drivers. Our three English visitors had been to Aghadowey on Friday night drove down on Saturday morning to Tipperary and when racing finished headed to Dublin to catch a ferry to Holyhead. From Holyhead they went to Wimbledon to race on Sunday afternoon. Heat one was fast and 977 Jordan Rochford held off Reid and Ben Murray to take the win. Mark Gleeson came in best of the local drivers in fourth place. In heat two 918 Richard Stewart took the honours with Ben Murray going one better than his first heat by taking second. 503 Jordan Murray was third. The final was a little messy at the start but this did not deter 50 Ben Murray taking a start to finish victory. 977 Jordan Rochford was on the boot lid of Ben for most of the race and took a worth second. 992 Vincent Litton was third after a bit of confusion.
The John Hall Memorial for Stock Rods is one the all the Tipperary drivers would like to win. A number of visiting drivers from the North including last years winner Derek McMillan also competed in the 24 car entry.
Heat one was messy and included a number of yellow flags. 80 Denis McAuliffe was lucky not to be injured when his car ended up on its roof after contact with another car. 894 Colm O Sullivan came from mid field to take the heat win followed by 617 Philip Heery and a much improved 851 Owen McGrath. 451 Keith Butler took the win in heat two from 761 Brendan O Connell with 36 Anthony McGinty, just returned from rescuing refugees in the Mediterranean, in third place. There were a number of incidents in the race one of which resulted in 961 Barry Casey getting a black flag. The final was incident packed. 83 Alan McCormack and 894 Colm O Sullivan were battling hard for the lead when on the back straight 83 mounted the wall and almost turned over. This allowed the third placed driver 451 Keith Butler to take the win as 894 O Sullivan was given a black flag for the incident with 83. 617 Philip Heery took second and last years winner Derek McMillan 944 third.
14 Productions in round 11 of their Championship was the supporting race. 68 Ken Moloney took the win in heat one followed by 215 Mike Howard and 15 John Shanahan. In heat two only 8 of the starters finished the race. 215 Mike Howard winning and a returning 162 Ian Riordan second with 23 Ger Russell third.
Due time constraints the productions final was not run and will be ran at the start of the next meeting.
SORA would like to thank all the drivers and crews who travelled to Tipperary to support us this evening. The supporters who came in big numbers to watch the racing must agree that the racing was fantastic and hopefully will be replicated in the last three meetings of the year which includes the European Stock Rod finals.
Last but not least a big thank you to Andrew Fanning of Fannings motor factors Cahir for sponsoring the John Hall Trophies.

Added: 5/10/15

Find Us on Facebook

Find Us On My Laps

Previous 0 |1 |2 |3 |4 |5 |6 |7 8 |9 |10 |11 |12 |13 |14 |15 | Next